Game development

Dundee Gaming Champion and Top Cop among Local 2022 New Years Honors Recipients

One of Dundee’s early game education pioneers will be named an Officer of the Order of the British Empire in this year’s New Years Honors list.

Paul Durrant, who started the city’s Dare To Be Digital game development competition, is named OBE for his contribution to the UK video game industry.

The Dare competition was founded to encourage playing talent from across the UK, bringing students from around the world to Abertay University Dundee to compete for a special BAFTA ‘Ones to Watch’ gong.

Durrant has since created UK Games Talent and Finance CIC to support start-ups across the UK looking to get into game creation.

Dare To Be Digital competition promoted Dundee’s gaming talent

Elsewhere, Police Officer Graeme Anderson, who most recently served as Event Planning Manager for Major Events in Dundee, is awarded an MBE.

Jacqueline Maxwell of Broughty Ferry, head of customer relations for energy company SSE, will receive the same award for her contributions to the energy sector.

Lorna Ward, from Dundee, will also be appointed MBE for children’s court services in the city.

Eileen Ross Haggarty, also from Dundee, will receive a British Empire Medal (BEM) for her education and community service during Covid-19.

Other local award recipients include Dr Margaret Ellis, named MBE for her work in dementia care and community services in St Andrews, and Laura Baxter of Perth, Interim CEO of Special Olympics, who is also named MBE.

DundeeLive brings you the latest titles from Dundee and beyond.

But did you know all the ways you can stay informed with us?

You can receive our best stories straight to your inbox with our daily updates. Simply complete the registration box earlier in this article or click here.

Make sure to “Like” us on Facebook to get the latest Dundee news, photos, videos and reports live in your feed.

You can also Follow us on twitter, by clicking on the notification bell to receive alerts every time we tweet.

We share everything from live news and exclusive scoops to the latest features and sports every day, so you sure don’t want to miss it!

Geoff Brown, chairman of St Johnstone FC until 2011, will be appointed OBE for service to Scottish football and the Perth community.

The 2022 New Year’s Honors List recognizes hundreds of people for the contributions they made to the country during the Covid-19 pandemic.

Special Knights are awarded to Sir Patrick Vallance, Chief Scientific Adviser to the British Government, and Professor Chris Whitty, Chief Medical Officer of England.

Former St Johnstone President Geoff Brown has been appointed OBE
Former St Johnstone President Geoff Brown has been appointed OBE

They are named Knight Commanders of the Order of the Bath – one of the highest honors available.

Actresses Joanna Lumley and Vanessa Redgrave are among the women named Ladies, while Professors Jonathan Van-Tam and Scottish Chief Medical Officer Gregor Smith are named Knights Batchelors.

James Bond star Daniel Craig was made a Companion of the Order of St. Michael and St. George, the same honor bestowed on 007; while popstar Mel B was named MBE for her work with Women’s Aid.

Get the latest Dundee Live news delivered straight to your inbox. Subscribe to our daily news updates .

Source link